06 Oct | Lincoln News | Women in Leadership

Deborah Wilson David, University of Lincoln academic shortlisted for leadership award!

Congratulations Deborah Wilson David for being nominated for a prestigious award recognising entrepreneurial female leaders!

Deborah Wilson David, co-founder of the journalism programmes and Deputy Head of the School of English and Journalism, has been nominated in the Corporate Leader category in the Forward Ladies National Awards 2017, The awards, sponsored by HSBC, bring together start-ups, multi-million pound businesses, academics and international business leaders.

She will join more than 30 women from across the Midlands at the regional final at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, Birmingham on Friday 29th September. The winners from this, and the other regional finals, will then be invited to appear before a live panel of independent judges in November, followed by the national final in Leeds on 1st December.

In announcing the Midlands region shortlist, Forward Ladies Managing Director, Griselda Togobo, commented: “This has been a fantastic year for women and now it’s time to change gear and focus on the support needed to nurture talent regardless of gender, sector or region. The calibre of entries has been increasing year on year, but this year we have a number of outstanding entries and we very much look forward to celebrating and sharing their success.”

Jennifer Crawley, UK Head of Performance for Business Banking, HSBC and award judge, added: “There was an impressive number of high-calibre entries this year, highlighting the quality of talented businesswomen we have in the UK. HSBC will be supporting them every step of the way to ensure their businesses prosper and thrive in the long term.”

Other judges include Ajaz Ahmed, the founder of Freeserve, Jan Flawn CBE, founder of PJ Care, Sahar Hashemi, founder of Coffee Republic and Dale Murray, Co-Founder of Omega Logic.

Deborah has previously won the accolade of the Broadcast Journalism Training Council for Innovation in Broadcast Journalism Teaching and was recognised last year for her contribution to the US-based Broadcast Education Association.